The Early Years Foundation Stage Framework sets out the learning and development stages for children from birth to five years. The children learn across seven areas:

The Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional,
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Creative Arts and Design

Characteristics of Learning

The framework supports children’s learning and development through:

Playing and exploring, active learning, creating and thinking critically

Through these characteristics we aim to develop children into resilient, independent, enthusiastic learners who are willing to have a go, take risks and keep trying.

For further details please refer to: The Early Years Parent’s guide.

EYFS Documents

Reception Homework

Children are given weekly phonics and mathematics homework using the “Education City” online learning platform.

Once the children are familiar with a number of letter sounds and can blend them together, they are given reading books every week. Parents are asked to read with their children each night if possible.